The Liebster Award

One of the first things I noticed when I started blogging were blogger awards. I always thought these awards were for the cool kids: the popular or talented ones. But what do ya know…people like me can get them too! It seems like a fun way to get to know and to show your appreciation to other bloggers.

I was very excited when Anne Squared nominated me for the Liebster Award. I like her very much and have enjoyed following her. She is witty and incredibly honest, and her personality comes through in each post. Her blog is inspired by her Myer-Briggs personality types, and as someone whose letters seem to be constantly changing and who understands very little about herself, I appreciate that Anne is true to herself and incredibly self-aware.

The First Step of the Liebster Award is to tell 11 things about yourself:

  1. I am a moderate in almost all ways possible.
  2. I don’t often share my opinions because they are likely to change.
  3. I am a people-pleaser.
  4. I had two Labrador Retrievers as a child. Sometimes I think about them and wish I spent more time with them.
  5. I am a ocean snob.
  6. I’m a little under 5 ft and I wish I were taller.
  7. I like to sleep too much, and I’m awful to wake up.
  8. I love history and the social sciences.
  9. I like to watch old movies and have a secret (I guess not so secret) desire to be in a musical.
  10. I have a lot of inhibitions that seem to be slowly disappearing with age.
  11. I am easily inspired. Cynics despise me.

The Second Step of the Liebster Award is to answer the 11 questions asked by the nominating blogger (in this case there were 9):

1. Is there a population solution that you favor in particular? (Just kidding.) How many siblings do you have?

I have 6 siblings: 5 brothers and 1 sister.

2. Who is your favorite artist?

The Claudes. Monet for art and Debussy for music.

3. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

Definitely dogs. But, cats are okay too.

4. Do you have a recurring dream? Good or bad?

As a child I frequently dreamed that I was being chased: by the He-Man tiger, Power Rangers’ transforming animals, or large red Monster Trucks. To this day, I hate playing night games where you get chased.

5. What is your opinion about the flying monkeys in “The Wizard of Oz”?

They’re creepy…and annoying.

6. How many states and/or countries have you had a driver’s license in?

Just Hawaii. But I’ll soon have a Utah driver’s license.

7. Would you rather survive a pandemic that killed 99.4% of the population, or be among the 99.4%? (That is the scenario in “The Stand”, by Stephan King.)

I would like to survive. I’ve always wanted to be a hermit or a vagabond.

8. Did you know that HIV/AIDS is no longer classified as a “sexually transmitted disease” (STD)?

I did not. That’s interesting.

9. You are at an estate sale that is selling work by Rembrandt, Picasso, Monet and other renowned artists. A local woman is running the sale to keep the prices lower to the buyer but give the estate more return on the items. (Her entry into the market.) The deceased, an eclectic collector of beauty, has an incredible collection of work. You are offered the following: 5 exquisite, but unsigned watercolors on textured paper. The provenance is gone. The dearly departed hired people to come into his home to search for the documents – but nothing was ever found. Given the collection of items that is being sold, and the 5 unsigned watercolors look simple, but unique, would you be willing to pay $250.00 for the set of them?

Yes, most definitely. Beauty is still beauty whether famous or not.

The Third Step for the Liebster Award is to nominate 11 bloggers with relatively few (less than 200) followers.

No Step to Loose is a blogger after my own heart. I love reading about her incredible outdoor adventures, and I’m jealous of all of the great places that she has explored.

Carltonaut has a very unique blog, and, although we differ in important loyalties, I can’t help but love his experiments in creative photography.

C’est la Vie, Annie is a a very sweet photography blog. Annie has a lot of very nice thoughts and an excellent way of putting things.

Sounds Like a Wish is a great blog with great words. I love following the Great Opening Lines series and Trish knows how to pick the winners.

Stories of My Dream is a photography blog about someone who is living the dream. Edy is a diver and photographer who shares his adventures of some of the most beautiful places in the world.

Northwest Frame of Mind has an excellent blog about one of the areas I consider to be the most beautiful and awe-inspiring in the world. I love looking at pictures of her adventures in the great mountains and waters of the Northwest.

Yoolie’s has a very nice blog about her world travels. Her pictures are very colorful and diverse, and her blog is definitely worth checking out.

Crux Crush is a blog about the girl climbers who inspire us to send harder routes. I can’t help but love these three girls love of all things climbing and their adventurous travels around the world.

Serif and Spice is a gluten free food blog. Her recipes are health-conscious and look delicious. I haven’t had a lot of time recently to cook, but when I do I’ll be giving her recipes a try.

The Fourth Step for the Liebster Award is to ask your nominees 11 questions.

  1. What culture (in your opinion) has the best food?
  2. Where is the best place you have been and why?
  3. What is one talent you wish you had?
  4. What is your favorite downtime activity?
  5. Are you like your parents?
  6. What’s your favorite thing about blogging?
  7. What things make you happy?
  8. If you could live in a different time, what time would it be?
  9. Are you satisfied with your government?
  10. Who is your favorite individual in history?
  11. What brings you fulfillment?
7 responses to “The Liebster Award

  1. Congratulations on your award and thank you for sharing the nomination with me! I always enjoy your posts and am looking forward to checking out some of your favorites mentioned above!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

